top of page

'The Grant McLennan Fellowship' The Finalists, All Winners! However, Just One Recipient, Han


Click On Their Names To Go To Their Facebook Page And Check Them Out! Leanne Tennant, Bec Laughton, Jeremy Neale, and Hannah Macklin.

On Friday the 2nd of December 2016, I was privileged to witness four extremely talented Musicians compete in goodwill for the coveted 'Grant McLennan Fellowship' at 'The Triffid in Brisbane. Every Finalist on Stage was truly honoured to have been chosen. And they were all terrific on the night! It's a pretty Big Honour! Recieving it could have life changing consequences for the Recipient. The Fellowship is delivered through a partnership with Arts Queensland, APRA AMCOS (The Australasian Performing Right Association - Australasian Mechanical Copyright-Owners Society) and QMusic. It's just a shame that there could only be one Recipient.

And That Recipient was, ..... Drum Roll Please!

Hannah Macklin! (Founder and Front Woman of MKO Sun)

Why Not Go To 'MKO Sun's' Web Page Now and Buy Their Latest E.P. "Opus Opalus". Just Click On Hannah's Photo Above.

Why Not Go To 'MKO Sun's' Web Page Now and Buy Their Latest E.P. "Opus Opalus". Just Click On Hannah's Presentation Photo Above.

Here's a Wonderful Example Of Her Amazing Vocal Range, and Artistic Abilities. ('MKO' - "Snarly")

After the Finalists Shows, And The Annoucement I talked with Hannah. Hannah Macklin

AMES;

Hi Hannah, Congratulations. Could you tell me about your Musical Influence's growing up? Hannah;

Yeah, I guess I was always really interested in RnB and Soul Music. The Black Music Tradition. I've always loved Black Music above all other Music. All the Artists that I really liked when I was a teenager shaped me then, as they do now. People like Lauren Hill, Alicia Keys, Aretha Franklin, and Stevie Wonder. People like that.

I listen to other stuff as well. My Dad used to play the Beach Boys, Patsy Kline and stuff like that.

AMES; What Are Your Plans For The Grant? Hannah; I'm going to New York for 3 months in August next year. What I said on my Application is that I'm going to spend one month being a sponge. Like, not trying to make music. AMES; Right, .... get everything you can out of it! Just Soak up the Culture. Hannah; Yeaaah! Just vibe out, doing all the stuff I like doing in New York. I've been there a couple of times.

Stuff like wandering the streets aimlessly, human observing, getting the Subway everywhere, going to The Art Galleries, seeing different types of Shows, Theatre shows, and Gig's obviously.

Just anything that seems interesting, and checking it out.

Spending a month doing that, and writing (if I feel I can) but not really trying to write. In the 2nd month, that will be the beginning of writing.

AMES; Your Vocal Range is pretty up there, and I was astounded to discover that not only did you write and arrange the songs, but you pull it all together in the video's as well. That's freaks me out, the talent.... Hannah; Yeah, I guess I think a lot. Which some say is a bad thing. If I have an idea for something. I think about every aspect of it. Like, if I have an idea for a song I think about, what would the video be about, what kind of dress I would be wearing. You know.... Yeah I guess I like taking an idea as far, and in as many directions as possible. AMES; Sometimes when I'm resting, I have so many ideas flowing through my head, I find myself either running of on a tangent, or coming out with a new idea altogether. Do you find this happening to yourself? Hannah; Yeah, definitely. I find that as being a part of a song writer, musician or creator. The reason you keep doing it is because you're always chasing this thing. All these really good ideas seem to come to you when you are relaxing in bed at night, and you visualise stuff. You always want to create that thing that you're chasing, thats why you keep doing it again and again. AMES;

Thanks Hannah, Have a graet time in New York, and congratulations again! Hannah;

Thanks Tom.

The Show and Presentation was based around Grant McLennan's Legacy. He was a Founding member of Brisbane Band 'The Go-Betweens', his talent knew no bounds. Last night his family, friends, and fellow Musicians were all there to honour him and his legacy.

All finalist started out the night doing 2 songs each, one of 'The Go-Betweens', in their own particular style. And one of their own that they submitted to "The Fellowship Judging" Panel.

To explain more about the 'Grant McLennan Fellowship' I take these words directly from the QMusic Application Page. ABOUT THE GRANT MCLENNAN FELLOWSHIP The Fellowship will consist of an award of $25,000 to a Queensland based contemporary songwriter or, songwriting duo. The recipient/s will undertake a trip to either London, Berlin or New York. The Fellowship has been designed to expose the recipient/s to the full cultural life of one of these cities as a source of inspiration and creativity.

Click On The QMusic Logo To Go There Now.

Such an opportunity is rarely recieved by the majority of struggling Musicians. And Australian Musician's are struggling. An opportunity to travel to their chosen destination, soak up a new culture, and be free of their day job's to totally concentrate on making new Music. (Despite what most people think, musicians aren't made of money.)

It's only with the Help of such Industry Organisations such as Arts Queensland, APRA AMCOS (The Australasian Performing Right Association - Australasian Mechanical Copyright-Owners Society) and QMusic that make it possible.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page